American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies
2017-18 Travel Grants

Applications are invited for the grants listed below who purpose is to support research in eighteenth-century studies that requires travel. Only members of ASECS in good standing are eligible to apply. (To become a member, click here) Applicants should submit only one application and will be considered for every grant for which they are available.

All completed applications must include:

· Cover form (Application)

 · Curriculum vitae

 · Narrative description of the project, its contribution to the field, how much you will have completed by the time of the proposed fellowship, and your plan for using the time of the fellowship.

 · A one-page bibliography of major, related books, and articles

 · A budget
 · Two letters of recommendation. You should ask individuals who know your work well and who can comment on the value of your project to write to the committee chair. These letters (as well as all other application materials) should be sent to the ASECS Business Office at and must be received by the specific award's due date.

Application forms are available on the ASECS website. (See below) (Irish-American Research Travel Fellowship applications are also available from Dr. Jason McElligott, The Keeper, Marsh's Library, St. Patrick's Close, Dublin 8, Ireland or from Prof. James E. May, 694 Coal Hill Road, Clearfield, PA 16830, USA. There are no restrictions by age, sex, race, religion, or academic rank.)



Gwin J. and Ruth Kolb Research Travel Fellowship - $500
Application Deadline: 1 January 2018
Eligibility: All members of ASECS who are faculty and independent scholars within the first five years of receipt of their Ph.D. Advanced doctoral candidates with a demonstrable need for specific collections necessary for their dissertation also are encouraged to apply.
Purpose:  To supplement costs for younger eighteenth-century scholars to travel to distant collections in North America and abroad.

Robert R. Palmer Research Travel Fellowship - $500
Application Deadline: 1 January 2018
Eligibility: All members of ASECS.
Purpose:  To support documentary research related primarily to the history and culture of France.

Aubrey L. Williams Research Travel Fellowship - $1500
Application Deadline: 1 January 2018
Eligibility: ASECS members resident in North America.
Purpose: To support documentary research in eighteenth-century English literature, by American based scholars.
Restrictions: None by academic discipline or subperiod of within eighteenth-century English literature. The fellowship is restricted to doctoral students at work on a dissertation in the field of eighteenth-century English literature.

Richard H. Popkin Research Travel Fellowship - $250
Application Deadline: 1 January 2018
Eligibility: All members of ASECS
Purpose: To supplement costs for scholars to travel to collections in North America and abroad

Theodore E.D. Braun Research Travel Fellowship - $1000
Application Deadline:  1 January 2018
Eligibility:  All members of ASECS
Purpose:  To support researchers, regardless of rank, who are working in French literary studies.

Paula Backscheider Archival Fellowship - $1000
Application Deadline: 1 January 2018
Eligibility: All members of ASECS
Purpose: To support those researchers whose projects necesitate work in archives, repositories, and special collections (public and private) in foreign countries and/or in the United States. 

A.C. Elias, Jr. Irish-American Research Travel Fellowship - $2500
Application Deadline: 15 November 2018 (for 2019 consideration)
Eligibility:  ASECS' A. C. Elias Irish-American Research Travel Fellowship, with $2500 in annual funding, supports "documentary scholarship on Ireland in the period between the Treaty of Limerick (1691) and the Act of Union (1800), by enabling North American-based scholars to travel to Ireland and Irish-based scholars to travel to North America for furthering their research." Projects conducting original research on any aspect of 18C Ireland qualify for consideration, but recipients must be members of ASECS who have permanent residence in the United States or Canada or be members of its Irish sister organization, The Eighteenth-Century Ireland Society, residing in Ireland. Prize winners are chosen by an independent jury of three scholars from different disciplines, after each is seen by readers in the applicants field. The Elias Irish-American Research Fellowship was established in 1993-1994 by the late A. C. Elias, Jr., an independent scholar, long a member of EC/ASECS--it was renamed in 2013 to honor Elias's scholarship and assistance to the community of scholars. Applications for the next Elias fellowship are due on 15 November 2017 to Dr. Jason McElligott, The Keeper, Marsh's Library, St. Patrick's Close, Dublin 8, Ireland ( McElligott replaces Dr. Maire Kennedy,,--and Dr. James May (; 694 Coal Hill Road / Clearfield, PA 16830 / USA). Applications consist of the coversheet downloaded at the ASECS travel-fellowship website, a short C.V. (1-3 pp.), a description of the project (3 pp. or less, treating its contribution to the field and work done and to be done during the proposed research period), a one-page bibliography of related books and articles, a short budget, and two signed letters of recommendation. Please try to submit all the materials but the letters as one Word file or PDF. If the two letters of support cannot be supplied as PDFs of signed letters, the original copies should be mailed to one of the trustees.
Restrictions:  None by academic discipline or sub-period of specialization within 18th-century Ireland. The fellowship is restricted to documentary scholars, whose research centers on primary sources from the eighteenth century (printed matter, manuscripts, buildings, works of art, or other artifacts), rather than on the secondary literature already extant.


Eighteenth-Century Scottish Studies Society - Daiches-Manning Memorial Fellowship in 18th-Century Scottish Studies – $3000, or an appropriate amount in pounds sterling
Application Deadline: 28 February 2018
Sponsorship: Co-sponsored by ASECS and the Eighteenth-Century Scottish Studies Society (ECSSS)
Eligibility: Post-doctoral scholars without regard to nationality, residence, or academic discipline. Fellows must be members of ASECS and ECSSS at the time the fellowship is awarded.
Purpose:  This fellowship honors the memory of David Daiches (1912–2005) and Susan Manning (1953–2013), eminent eighteenth-century literary and cultural historians of Scotland and America, recipients of the ECSSS Lifetime Achievement Award, and directors of the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities (IASH) at the University of Edinburgh. It supports two-six months of research on eighteenth-century Scotland as a Fellow in residence at IASH.


No applicant may accept more than one fellowship in any given year.