Shirley Bill Teaching Fund:
Contributions received to this fund are given to honoring an individual as an ASECS great teachers and are used to support the Innovative Course Design competition.

James L. Clifford Prize:
The James L. Clifford Prize goes to the author of an article on an outstanding study of some aspect of eighteenth-century culture, interesting to any eighteenth-century specialist, regardless of discipline.

Louis Gottschalk Prize:
This prize is for an outstanding historical or critical study on the eighteenth century and carries an award of $1,000. Louis Gottschalk (1899-1975) second President of ASECS, President of the American Historical Association, and for many years Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago, exemplified in his scholarship the humanistic ideals that this award is meant to encourage.

Annibel Jenkins Biennial Biography Prize:
The biennial Annibel Jenkins Prize is given to the author of the best book-length biography of a late seventeenth-century or eighteenth-century subject and carries an award of $1,000. The prize is named in honor of Annibel Jenkins, Professor of English (Emerita) at the Georgia Institute of Technology. A founding member of the Southeastern American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies, she is an outstanding teacher and scholar who has been for many years one of the most active and encouraging members of the academic community in America.


Paula Backscheider Archival Fellowship:

To support those researchers whose projects necessitate work in archives, repositories, and special collections (public and private) in foreign countries and/or in the United States.

Theodore E.D. Braun Travel Fellowship:

To support documentary research on Jean-Jacques Le Franc de Pompignan or to support non-tenured persons working on Voltaire, or to support researchers, regardless of rank, who are working in French literary studies.

Irish American Research Travel Fellowship:

To support documentary scholarship on Ireland in the period between the Treaty of Limerick (1691) and the Act of Union (1800), by enabling North American-based scholars to travel to Ireland and Irish-based scholars to travel to North America for furthering their research.

Gwin J. and Ruth Kolb Research Travel Fellowship:
To supplement costs for younger eighteenth-century scholars to travel to distant collections in North America and abroad.

Robert R. Palmer Research Travel Fellowship:
To support documentary research related primarily to the history and culture of France.

Richard H. Popkin Research Travel Fellowship:
To supplement costs for scholars to travel to collections in North America and abroad.

Aubrey Williams Research Travel Fund:
Given to support the research of an American-based doctoral student at work on a dissertation in the field of eighteenth-century English literature.


President and Executive Board Fund:
These funds cover prizes and awards established by the Executive Board. At the present time they are used for: the Graduate Student Research Paper Award which recognizes the pioneering research contributions of the next generation of scholars of eighteenth-century studies; the Graduate Student Conference Paper Competition for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the ASECS Annual Meeting.

Women’s Caucus Fund:
These funds cover three awards presently given by the Women’s Caucus. These prizes include: the ASECS Women’s Caucus Editing and Translation Fellowship, an annual award of $1000 to support an editing or a translation work in progress on a feminist or a Women’s Studies subject; the Catharine Macaulay Prize, an annual award for the best graduate student paper on a feminist or Women's Studies subject presented at the ASECS Annual Meeting or at any of the regional meetings during the academic year; the Émilie Du Châtelet Award for Independent Scholarship, an annual award of $500 made to support research in progress by an independent or adjunct scholar on a feminist or Women's Studies subject.

Traveling Jam-Pot Fund:
Award recipients are ABDs and PhDs within a year after receiving doctoral degree). An award of up to $300 will be given toward the cost of attending the ASECS annual meeting. This is a non-investment funds with all funds distributed annually.


Eighteenth-Century Studies Enrichment Fund:

Will be used to supplement the funds currently need to publish Eighteenth-Century Studies.

Founders Fund:

For the support of the joint fellowship with major research libraries.

Music, Art, Drama and Decorative Arts Fund:

This fund will be used to help support presentations in the visual and performing arts at the Annual Meeting.